What does God’s call to us look and sound like now?

Our church calendar and Sunday readings are full of stories of “call” these days, between Andrew, Peter, Nathanael and Samuel last week and with James and John this Sunday right next to the feast of Paul’s conversion, we’re hearing lots of stories of how folks first heard and listened to God, particularly God in Jesus. It can look and sound like many different things. A boy hearing voices in the night. Adults leaving their work behind to follow something else. Doubt turned to awe. A message from someone persecuted. What does that call look like in your own life? What does it sound like for St. David’s? As a fun way to get a sense for our collective response, try answering one or both of these questions in 100 words or less and paste it as a comment under “Leave a Reply” below.

2 responses »

  1. Responding to call is something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. In some ways, I’m trying to respond to call as creatively as I can, and with as much joy as I can muster. Sometimes that manifests in my experience of community at St. David’s. Sometimes that leads me to new relationships and new contexts. What I keep discovering through my attempts to respond to God’s call is that God is persistent, and inescapable. The call does not go away, especially once you really hear it.

    I’m not sure what call sounds like for St. David’s. Perhaps this thread of creativity and expression will weave its way into the community’s collective response to God’s call for us, and we will become a place with even more vibrant expressions of creativity and new life.

    I think I would like that very much.

  2. I’ve thought a lot about this since I first read your post, James. It’s been difficult for me to answer. I think I’m at a point in my life where I’m doing the calling.

    And this is where I start to go in circles: What kind of response do I need? What kind of response do I expect? What kind of response do I deserve? Am I mistaking what feels like a call (from me) for something that’s actually a call TO me?

    To answer your questions: in my own life, the call feels like discomfort. Or dissatisfaction. Or need.

    For St. David’s, the call feels like an opportunity for deeper and more active reflection on our faith, and on our faith in action.

Leave a Reply

